Click to view moreClick to view more
Click to view moreClick to view more
Click to view moreClick to view more

News Archives

20 Votran Drivers Earn Safe Driving Awards

Mon, Aug 10, 2020 at 4:05PM

Written by Kristen Schmutz

Belden Communications News




The definition of a good transit driver is courteous, professional, attentive, and above all, safe.


The National Safety Council (NSC) presents awards of honor each year to transit drivers across the county, the criteria include a minimum of 15 years or 250,000 consecutive miles driven without a preventable collision.


According to a release, Votran, Volusia County’s Public Transit System, didn’t just have one award recipient. Votran had 20 drivers that earned the NSC Award of Honor. A large number of award recipients was even more impressive given the additional considerations and responsibilities of serving the riding public in the age of COVID-19.

“Having this many award recipients is indicative of how many excellent employees we have,” said Elizabeth Suchsland, Votran’s assistant general manager of operations and maintenance. “Even with all that’s going on, our drivers are out there providing not only a safer health environment but also a safe physical experience riding public transit with Votran. These awards were extremely well-deserved.”


A non-profit safety advocacy organization, the National Safety Council divides its awards into 10 geographical regions. Votran drivers compete in the NSC’s South Atlantic Region, which encompasses Florida, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. Of the 20 Votran drivers who earned the recognition, 17 drive fix routes and three provide paratransit service. The 20 honorees are as follows:


Davidson Abraham


Brenda Daughtry


Richard Delpezzo


Maria Dupree


Nate Flynt


David Forbes


Carl Forster


Mitchell Franklin


Teddy Glenn


Bernard Huggins


Janet Kisner


Betty Kennedy Lowe


Tracey McClary


Jimmy Molina


Adriano Pagan


Thomas Vaughan


Evett “Doc” Wilson




BJ Crooms


Dottie Higgins


Clayton Stanley


Earning recognition from the National Safety Council is nothing new for Votran drivers, with Bernard Huggins and Wilson being past recipients.






Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!

Click to view more
Click to view more
Join Our
Mailing List!
For the latest specials, events and more! Click here to join
Area Map