Click to view moreClick to view more
Click to view moreClick to view more

News Archives

School Board members take Oath of Office.

Wed, Nov 30, 2022 at 3:05PM

Written by Kristen Schmutz

Belden Communications News 



On Monday, November 28, 2022, re-elected School Board members Jamie Haynes of District 1, Ruben Colón of District 5, and newly elected School Board Member Jessie Thompson took the Oath of Office administered by Volusia County Court Judge A. Christian Miller during the School Board’s annual organizational session. 

Jessie Thompson will represent District 3, which includes the areas of Edgewater, New Smyrna Beach, Oak Hill, Samsula, and a portion of Port Orange. She will serve a four-year term on the School Board of Volusia County.

The 9-12th grade Acappella ensemble, led by Mr. David Peralta from Pine Ridge High School, sang the National Anthem while DeLand High School's JROTC presented the colors at the start of the session.

According to a release, Haynes was selected as School Board Chair – previously held by Colón, while School Board District 2 Member Anita Burnette was named Vice Chair – previously held by Haynes. The chair and vice chair serve one year in these leadership positions. 

Bookmark & Share

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this post below!